RSS Feed

“Wendy” Web Show Review

Posted on

20120809-072107.jpg
I was fascinated to see this web series ever since I accidentally heard about it. It’s a very odd thing, really. This is a show, called “Wendy”, that was published every few weeks last year. It had a total of about ten, five minute episodes. It was made, or is affiliated, with Macy’s.

It is the story of Wendy, a girl who is head over heals in love with her perfect boyfriend…until she meets Peter. A mysterious stranger who she met first in her dreams, then in real life. He occupies a mysterious abandoned house, where Wendy decides to host a party at. During the party she is strangely attracted to Peter, and pulls away from her boyfriend. At the ending, Peter beckons her to step off the second floor balcony, which she does, as the screen fades to black.

THE GOOD: I really did become very intrigued with the show. The writing was well done, for such short episode times, and it left me yearning to know more.
The cast, was wonderful. (That’s another odd thing about this show. It starred Meaghen Martin, that beautiful girl from Camp Rock, who actually does look the part of Wendy and pulls it off beautifully.)
The set also surprised me. Since this wasn’t a huge budget production, being only a web series, I don’t expect the sets to be as lavish as they turned out to be.

THE BAD: This show isn’t really about “Peter Pan” per say. Not that that’s a bad thing, but because of the title of the show, and it’s marketing, I assumed it would be at least vaguely related to the story of Peter. Really, the only things related are Wendy’s name, and Peter’s name. And the fact that Peter seems a bit magical, and…dangerous. Peter’s not a boy here.
My only ‘real’ criticism of the show is that it didn’t cover much ground. I understand that they had short episode times, but still. All that happened could have been told in five minutes in a movie.

SUMMARY: I liked “Wendy”. I really did! Which means the short run time is a big disappointment. Luckily, the show Twitter account has released information that a second season might be in the works. Go watch the show, and if you like it, tweet them and ask for another season!

ADHERENCE TO THE ‘True Peter Pan’
4/10
OVERALL
7/10

Comment below and tell me what YOU think of this show? Planning to watch it now?

About Caleb Lee

i'm a graphic designer, writer, and animation addict. when i'm not writing words about my favorite shows, you can usually find me hanging around on Twitter.

Leave a comment